Loot Crate March 2017 Review: It’s Time to Get Primal

Loot Crate March 2017 Review: It’s Time to Get Primal

Like It? Share It!

We’ve had the Loot Crate March 2017 for review for the last week and we’ve certainly enjoyed it. Now it’s time to put our thoughts on paper about the “Primal” theme for the geek box.

Here’s our Loot Crate March 2017 review of “Primal.” Please note that they are our thoughts and we do compare with previous months.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review

Something that’s Not a POP! Doll

If you speak to one of us, you’ll find out that while we love POP! dolls, Loot Crate has been a bit repetitive with them. It’s only been the last few boxes where there wasn’t a POP! doll insight, but then there also hasn’t been a figurine as such.

This month did include a figurine of X-Men’s Wolverine. It makes sense with the “Primal” theme and one geeky person in the house definitely isn’t complaining that it’s Hugh Jackman’s version of the iconic character. Let’s not forget that Logan is out in cinemas and tipped to be one of the best movies of 2017. The trailers alone are more than worth your time watching!

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #Logan #Wolverine #MetalDieCast

There were actually three Wolverines available, randomly placed in boxes. You wouldn’t know which one you were getting until the box was opened. We got Logan, which we have to say we think is the best out of the three. There is also Old Logan and Raw Adamantium Logan available, with each Logan symbolising a specific era for the character and the storyline.

The die cast metal figurines are heavy and will act as a good paperweight on your desk! Just watch out for dropping Wolverine on your toes! It is possible to buy this Loot Crate exclusive item through the Loot Vault.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #Logan #Wolverine #MetalDieCast

A Practical Predator Item

Sometimes Loot Crate offers something that isn’t just for display. Our favourite item of the past is the Doctor Who sonic screwdriver spork, but this month’s bottle opener is admittedly far more useful. Well, it was when we were in the UK. We get a lot of screw bottles now!

We are always honest with our reviews and this is where one of the first negatives is for our Loot Crate March 2017 review. The Predator bottle opener just isn’t as good as the Batman one in the past. But then we’re Batman fans and not Predator fans. I guess it’s going to depend what your interests are.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #Predator

There were two bottle openers, with a 50% chance of either one. Fans could have gained the original Jungle Hunter or Predator 2’s Gort. We got the former and it’s okay. At least the bottle opener is sturdy and does the trick (we’ve tested it).

The two bottle openers are available from the Loot Vault.

Yet Another T-Shirt for Your Collection

We know there are plenty of fans who complained when Loot Crate didn’t send T-shirts every month. Honestly, there’s no need for a T-shirt every single month but that’s what we’re getting right now. One thing we will say is that the fit for these T-shirts is getting better and the material is really soft on the skin. It looks like the change of supplier has done the company some favours.

But one of us in this house (who will remain nameless but is the Hugh Jackman fan) would like to have something a little different from time to time. A pair of socks, a scarf, or even a hat would be great for a change!

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #PrimalRage #Blizzard #Overwatch

This month’s T-shirt had us confused at first. One of us thought it was King Kong and the other thought it was to do with a game. It turns out that it is a game, but not the one that we thought. The gorilla on the front belongs to Blizzard Entertainment’s “Overwatch.”

For those who, like us, don’t know the game, it’s possible to unlock Sprays within the game. This allows characters to graffiti onto surfaces with Winston’s “Primal Rage” Spray one of the favourites. That’s the one that’s on the front of the T-shirt.

It’s actually a great way of doing it. It’s not obvious but fans of the game will instantly smile and nod at the T-shirt. At the same time, it’s nothing too weird or offensive to wear even if you’re not a fan.

The Little Extras in the Box

There were a couple of small extras in the box. The first is the Loot Pin, which comes each month. The focus is for the Loot Crate March 2017 box has been primal and about bringing your primal side alive. That’s shown with the pin, which is a smiley face with claw marks. It looks cool but there’s nothing else to really say about it.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #LootPin

There is the code to unlock the gamer side of things again. Last month introduced this and Loot Craters are building their scores to be the Ultimate Loot Crater.

The next little extra is the Jurassic World warning sign. Who doesn’t love something quirky to hang up in their home? We certainly do and plan to put it on the door of our apartment! It’s licensed by Universal Studies as a replica item from the actual movie, with cable ties so you can pop it anywhere you want.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #JurassicWorld

And then there’s the free digital comic to download. You’ll find this in the monthly Loot Mag, which details everything you need to know about the items from the box for the month. This month it’s all about “Savage” comics, which certainly screams primal when you look at the front covers. The storyline is of a famous soccer star and his wife disappearing (presumed dead) to a prehistoric island. You’ll get two comics this month with your digital download key only in the Loot Crate boxes.

The Loot Crate Box Turns Into A…

This is the part that our children love each month and our eldest couldn’t wait for us to get our Loot Crate March 2017 review out of the way. So far they’ve got a robot and a magazine file for their books. This month it links to the primal theme, and a certain movie that has already been mentioned. Think you can guess what it is?

We’ll give you a clue: you’ve got a warning sign for it!

That’s right! The box turns into a dinosaur. It wasn’t the easiest to create this month and it doesn’t look as sturdy as boxes in the past, but the kids love it!

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review #LootBox

Loot Crate March 2017 Review Verdict

Now that you know about the box, it’s time for our final verdict. Loot Crate this month was okay. It wasn’t amazing but it wasn’t a complete disaster. Logan definitely helped to save it for us.

There are going to be the odd months that aren’t as great. This month was full of items from movies or franchises that we’re not quite fans of, which means we don’t quite get the quirky nature of them or find the hidden humor. That doesn’t mean we’re going to stop getting the boxes. We look forward to Loot Crate’s April 2017 box for opening and reviewing.

#LootCrate #Primal #GeekBox #LootCrateMarch2017Review

Loot Crate

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook for more Loot Crate reviews and geeky content.

Like It? Share It!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.